Silvia Pärmann (Juhan Kuus Documentary Photography Centre)

The Countries That Do Not Exist by Silvia Pärmann (1979) is a documentary project that follows everyday life in the countries and regions that have all the trappings of a real country – they have governments and an independent spirit, quite often their own currency and military, sometimes they even issue visas and stamp passports on the border – but they don’t officially exist. For various reasons they are not allowed representatives in the United Nations and are ignored by most governments. Most of them declared independence in the 1990s.


Artist is presented by Juhan Kuus Documentary Photography Centre.

Foto Tallinn